New Year, Still Me

blogging-vs-people-4

Hello everyone,

I’ve been meaning to be doing this post because I wanted to send a little message. Note: This may be a short or long ramble post. I’m not sure yet.


post-pics

On the first day back of school the head teacher did an assembly for year 10’s and 11’s about new years resolution and new year new me blah blah blah. But one thing that stood out was that she was the fist ever teacher that said that we don’t have to do that. And she was talking a lot more about being better and stuff but i won’t repeat it here as it will be pretty long. But for some odd reason that assembly was stuck to my head ever since.

So now I’m using my thoughts to process the New year, new me Still me. This is what I came up with and thought I’d share it.

New years resolutions are unrealistic goals to chase a fantasy of who we want to be. Hence the New year new me.

I’m still me because…

post-pics-2

We have our regrets and things that went particularly wrong in the past few years and there is nothing wrong with that. The mistake that we do is that we try to forget and make a clean slate for ourselves in the new year. We are wrong because one way or another we will still remember the bad things in the past that make our ‘New Me’ in a bad mood at that moment. A clean slate for us never exists but accepting our faults will make it so much easier to accept and not be ashamed in the new year. This leads me to…

Still me but better because…

post-pics-3

It’s so hard to become a totally different person as we don’t want to maybe be that lazy (or insert reason why you want to be a new you) person. I guess baby steps are the best steps but instead of completely trying to change the real us, the best way to do it by being a better you. Little things like drinking a glass of water instead of a glass of coke is an example of being a better you because you chose whats healthy for you. It doesn’t mean that you can’t ever drink coke again, (cause you can whenever) but its what you want to do. It takes baby steps instead of never having coke again.

Don’t be that person who is totally different for a week as its new year and gives up on the first week. Become a better you and you will be happier at the end of the year instead of feeling bad for not completing a single resolution for a new you.

This is why I only have one resolution this year (read here) as its more realistic and I can focus on it to make a better me 🙂


So I hope this post wasn’t super long and i really hope this post does make sense. Have a great day 🙂

😘The Average Gurl

I n s t a g r a m | T w i t t e r | B l o g l o v i n ‘

32 thoughts on “New Year, Still Me

  1. Stella says:

    This is such an inspiring post! Every New Year, I always set too many goals for myself that aren’t practical to the person I am, but this post is so honest, it got me looking at myself. Thank You so much for this!

  2. Bailey Sanders says:

    I really like this post. It’s different and innovative. All we see is New year, New me stuff popping up everywhere but the thing is that almost all of us remain the same. This is really great.

  3. aballetoflife says:

    What a nice post. I totally agree with you. We have to take what we learnt from each year to the next so we can grow from it and not make the same mistakes. I also don’t really do new year resolutions as what is really the difference from one day in 2016 to the first day in 2017, each day we have a chance to be a better person. Thanks for sharing xx
    Harriet

  4. My Blurred World says:

    I love the idea of this post! I definitely agree with you, people don’t need to change, no one needs to change to become a happier person. People just need to make those small changes in their daily routines to make them a better version of themselves if they feel like they need to be, everyone has it within them. I really enjoyed reading this. Have a lovely week xxx

Leave your thoughts :)

